Equality Action Alert: Non-Discrimination Bill in Kansas Legislature

by | January 19, 2016

(Originally posted by Equality Kansas to Equality Kansas News)

capdomeLate last Thursday, the Kansas House of Representatives held a hearing on a bill that would add sexual orientation and gender identity to our state’s non-discrimination law. The hearing, in the House Judiciary Committee, was unique. Since the election of Sam Brownback as governor in 2010, and his “purge” of moderate Republicans from the Kansas Senate in 2012, we have not had a hearing on positive, pro-LGBT legislation.

Please act today! The members of the Judiciary Committee need to hear from you, your family, and your friends. Thank them for their time and attention to this important issue, and urge them to pass the bill out of committee. 

You can find more information on House Bill 2323, including the full text, at http://kslegislature.org/li/b2015_16/measures/hb2323/

The contact information for all committee members is included with this message. Two members who deserve a special “thank you” are Committee Chairman John Barker, who made the final decision on whether to hold the hearing, and Representative John Carmichael, who introduced this bill last year and advocated for the hearing to take place.

It is still legal in Kansas to fire us, evict us, and deny us service based on our sexual orientation and gender identity. It’s time we are given the same rights to be secure in our jobs, our homes, and in public as every other Kansan enjoys.

Please act today! Write, call, or if you can make it to Topeka, visit your state representative.  If you would like to set up a visit, please contact Thomas Witt, EQKS Executive Director, at witt@eqks.org

 

Judiciary Chairman John Barker
District 70 (Abilene, Dickinson County)
john.barker@house.ks.gov, johnbarker2012@yahoo.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 519-N
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7674

Representative John Carmichael
District 92 (Wichita, Sedgwick County)
john.carmichael@house.ks.gov,
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 451-S
Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-7650

Representative Steve Alford
District 124 (Ulysses, Grant County)
j.stephen.alford@house.ks.gov, j.stephenalford@yahoo.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 187-N
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7641

Representative Steven Becker
District 104 (Wichita, Reno County)
steven.becker@house.ks.gov, steveb@embarqmail.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 512-N
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7196

Representative Blake Carpenter
District 81 (Derby, Sedgwick County)
blake.carpenter@house.ks.gov, CarpenterforKansas@gmail.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 167-W
Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-7567

Representative Pam Curtis
District 32 (Kansas City, Wyandotte County)
pam.curtis@house.ks.gov, pcurtiskck@gmail.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 173-W
Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-7371

Representative Erin Davis
District 15 (Olathe, Johnson County)
erin.davis@house.ks.gov,
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 352-S
Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-7658

Representative Blaine Finch
District 59 (Ottawa, Franklin County)
blaine.finch@house.ks.gov, blainefinch@gmail.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 167-W
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7655

Representative Dennis “Boog” Highberger
District 46 (Lawrence, Douglas County)
dennis.boog.highberger@house.ks.gov, boog@boog46.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 174-W
Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-7122

Representative Kyle Hoffman
District 116 (Coldwater, Comanche County)
kyle.hoffman@house.ks.gov, kyle@kylehoffman.net
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 481-W
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7643

Representative Becky Hutchins
District 61 (Holton, Jackson County)
becky.hutchins@house.ks.gov, leg_doc@yahoo.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 519-N
Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-3971

Representative Mark Kahrs
District 87 (Wichita, Sedgwick County)
mark.kahrs@house.ks.gov, mark@kahrsforkansas.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 286-N
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7476

Representative Annie Kuether
District 55 (Topeka, Shawnee County)
annie.kuether@house.ks.gov, kuet@aol.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 43-S
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7669

Representative Charles Macheers
District 39 (Shawnee, Johnson County)
charles.macheers@house.ks.gov, charles@macheers.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 151-S
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7675

Representative Craig McPherson
District 8 (Overland Park, Johnson County)
craig.mcpherson@house.ks.gov, craig@craigmcpherson.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 268-W
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7695

Representative Les Osterman
District 97 (Wichita, Sedgwick County)
leslie.osterman@house.ks.gov, lildoc52@sbcglobal.net
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 512-N
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7689

Representative Fred Patton
District 50 (Topeka, Shawnee County)
fred.patton@house.ks.gov, fred@pattonforkansas.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 165-W
Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-7460

Representative Janice Pauls
District 102 (Hutchinson, Reno County)
jan.pauls@house.ks.gov, janpauls@sbcglobal.net
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 285-N
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7645

Representative Randy Powell
District 30 (Olathe, Johnson County)
randy.powell@house.ks.gov, randy@randy-powell.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 452-S
Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-5593

Representative John Rubin
District 18 (Shawnee, Johnson County)
john.rubin@house.ks.gov, rubinshaw@aol.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 151-S
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7690

Representative James Todd
District 29 (Overland, Johnson County)
james.todd@house.ks.gov, jameserictodd@gmail.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 268-W
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7695

Representative Jim Ward
District 86 (Wichita, Sedgwick County)
jim.ward@house.ks.gov, repwardks86@gmail.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 43-S
Topeka, KS 66612
785 296-7698

Representative John Whitmer
District 93 (Wichita, Sedgwick County)
john.whitmer@house.ks.gov, john@whitmerforkansas.com
Kansas State Capitol
300 SW 10th St, Room 167-W
Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-7567

Share This