EQKS 2019 Municipal and School Board Primary Election Endorsements

by | July 19, 2019

(Originally posted by Equality Kansas to Equality Kansas News)

Tuesday, August 6, is primary election day for cities and local school boards; Tuesday, November 5, is the date for the general election.  Early and absentee voting begins this week.  Our endorsements for the election are below.

Equality Kansas, when making endorsements, considers a number of factors in weighing our decisions. In order of importance, we consider:

  • Voting record as a public official, and whether the candidate is a “friendly incumbent” running for reelection to their current office, who has voted for policies that are important to our mission. Issues evaluated are primarily non-discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity, school bullying prevention inclusive of sexual orientation and gender identity, and relationship recognition.
  • Membership in Equality Kansas, or whether a candidate is openly LGBT;
  • Incumbent or former office holders who are running for a new office are evaluated on their historic voting record.
  • Responses to policy questionnaires sent to all candidates immediately after the June filing deadline;
  • Public statements regarding LGBT equality issues.

Our endorsement process in local elections is different from that in statewide and legislative elections. We depend on our members in our local chapters to submit names to our PAC, which then evaluates the candidates according to our regular PAC endorsement rules. Without a local request, our PAC does not evaluate candidates for endorsement in any given race.

Most endorsements decisions are relatively simple, especially for incumbents: They either vote with us or against us.

For newcomers, their questionnaire responses are key to our decision‑making process. We also consider voting records in prior offices held when a candidate is running for a different or higher office.

While we will consider public statements made by candidates, we never base our endorsements on private assurances of support.

We do not endorse in uncontested races, nor do we endorse in races where we either lack information on candidates or where we believe no candidate will represent the interests of the Kansas LGBT population.

Our endorsements are for the benefit of our membership, the Kansas LGBT community, and our friends and families.  We do not consider whether a candidate has sought our endorsement, nor do we withhold endorsements at any candidate request.

No matter who you vote for, get out and vote! Nothing changes in Kansas without your active participation.

Local School Board Races

USD 229 Blue Valley2PatrickHurley
USD 233 Olathe2BradBoyd
USD 253 EmporiaJeremyDorsey
USD 253 EmporiaArthurGutierrez
USD 253 EmporiaMalloryKoci
USD 253 EmporiaJeffLutes
USD 259 Wichita4StanReeser
USD 259 WichitaJoseph W.Shepard
USD 265 GoddardGail A.Jamison
USD 266 Maize1ShannonEdwards
USD 266 Maize2HeatherKillpatrick-O’Conner
USD 373 NewtonNathanDominguez
USD 373 NewtonCarminaFrances Suter
USD 373 NewtonAllenJantz
USD 383 Manhattan-OgdenKristinBrighton
USD 383 Manhattan-OgdenCurtHerrman
USD 497 LawrenceShannonKimball
USD 497 LawrenceTheaPerry
USD 500 Kansas CityJaneyHumphries
USD 500 Kansas CityBrendaJones
USD 500 Kansas CityRandyLopez
USD 500 Kansas CityValdeniaWinn
USD 501 Topeka1LaloMunoz
USD 501 Topeka2SueBolley
USD 501 Topeka2TracyRoutsong
USD 501 TopekaAt largeKeithTatum
USD 512 Shawnee Mission1BrianKoon
USD 512 Shawnee Mission3JessicaHembree
USD 512 Shawnee Mission5DevinWilson

City Council/Commission Races

Clearwater City CouncilJustinShore
Fairway City Council2TomCotter
Fairway City Council4JennaBrofsky
Gardner City CouncilAt-LargeAdriannaMeder
Hutchinson City CouncilAt-LargeCeeleyWilliams
Lawrence City CommissionKenEasthouse
Lawrence City CommissionBradFinkeldei
Lawrence City CommissionJoeyHentzler
Lenexa City Council1CourtneyEiterich
Lenexa City Council4JulieSayers
Manhattan City CommissionAaronEstabrook
Manhattan City CommissionLindaMorse
Manhattan City CommissionMaureenSheahan
Merriam City Council1BrianShapley
Merriam City Council2Whitney Yadrich
Merriam City Council4BobPape
Mission City Council1TrentBoultinghouse
Mission Hills City CouncilAt-LargeBeverlyBrooks
Mission Hills City CouncilAt-LargeBradenPerry
Mission Hills City CouncilAt-LargeAndrewWeed
Mission WoodsMayorRobertAllen Tietze
Newton City CommissionAntonio E.Sandate
Olathe City Council1LarryCampbell
Olathe City CouncilAt-LargeAlanMarston
Overland Park City Council1Taryn Jones
Overland Park City Council3StephanGlentzer
Overland Park City Council4FredSpears
Overland Park City Council5FarisFarassati
Pittsburg City CommissionSarahChenoweth
Prairie Village City Council2SerenaSchermoly
Prairie Village City Council3BonnieLimbird
Prairie Village City Council3LaurenWolf
Prairie Village City Council5CourtneyMcFadden
Roeland Park City Council2BenjaminDickens
Roeland Park City Council4MichaelRebne
Shawnee City Council2AndyRondon
Shawnee City Council3LisaLarson-Bunnell
Topeka City Council2ChristinaValdivia-Alcala
Topeka City Council6LucasRyan
Topeka City Council6ClarkTrammell
Topeka City Council8SpencerDuncan
Kansas City/UG Comm. At-Large1MelissaBrune Bynum
Kansas City/UG Commissioner3AnnMurguia
Kansas City/UG Commissioner4HaroldJohnson
Kansas City/UG Commissioner6AngelaMarkley
Valley Center MayorLouCicirello
Westwood Hills City CouncilAt-LargeRosemaryPodrebarac
Westwood Hills City CouncilAt-LargeKarenShelor Sexton
Westwood Hills City CouncilAt-LargeLudwigVillasi
Wichita City Council2RodneyWren
Wichita City Council4BeckieJenek
Wichita MayorAmyLyon
Share This