ACTION ALERT: Trans youth sports ban to get committee vote March 11

by | March 10, 2021

State Rep Stephanie Byers, Kansas’ first transgender legislator, testifies in opposition to SB208

UPDATE 3/11/21 @ 12:15pm: We have just learned the Senate Education Committee has just put off working SB208 until next Monday at the earliest.
 
Keep those calls, letters, and emails coming! We can still beat this.

 

Last week, we blocked a House attempt to attach, to unrelated legislation, a ban on trans youth participation in school sports. Tomorrow, March 11, the Senate Education Committee will be voting on SB 208, the bill attacking trans kids who want to play and participate as their authentic selves.

We must stop this bill!  Members of the Committee need to hear from you and your networks. Only through direct, immediate action can we stop this hateful legislation.  Contact information for all committee members is at the end of this post.

Full text and tracking information for SB 208 can be found at http://kslegislature.org/li/b2021_22/measures/sb208/.  Video of last month’s hearing is available on YouTube at https://youtu.be/r5pFd-5nfq0; written copies of testimony both for and against the bill is available at http://kslegislature.org/li/b2021_22/committees/ctte_s_ed_1/committee_testimony/?selected_date=02%2F23%2F2021

You can listen in to tomorrow’s committee meeting, scheduled for 1:30pm, from the audio link on the committee homepage at http://kslegislature.org/li/b2021_22/committees/ctte_s_ed_1/

Here’s some basic talking points against SB 208, along with some tips to effectively communication with elected officials, in downloadable PDF form:

Click to download SB208 talking points:

Click to download Tips for Writing Effective Letters to Public Officials:

If you are able to connect with these senators by phone, or hear back via email, please let us know at info@eqks.org how it went.  As always, please be polite!  Some of these senators are sympathetic to our mission; others are undecided on this issue.  First impressions matter!

Senator Molly Baumgardner (R – Louisburg)
Senate District 37
Molly.Baumgardner@senate.ks.gov; molly@molly4kansas.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7368
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 445-S, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Brenda Dietrich (R – Topeka)
Senate District 20
Brenda.Dietrich@senate.ks.gov; dietrbre@gmail.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7648
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 223-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Renee Erickson (R – Wichita)
Senate District 30
Renee.Erickson@senate.ks.gov; ericksonforkansas@gmail.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7476
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 541-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Beverly Gossage (R – Eudora)
Senate District 9
Beverly.Gossage@senate.ks.gov;
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7382
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 237-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Rick Kloos (R – Berryton)
Senate District 19
Rick.Kloos@senate.ks.gov; kloosforkansas@gmail.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7645
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 541-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Kristen O’Shea (R – Topeka)
Senate District 18
Kristen.OShea@senate.ks.gov; kristen@osheastrengthscoaching.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7656
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 441-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Pat Pettey (D – Kansas City)
Senate District 6
Pat.Pettey@senate.ks.gov; jmphp42@yahoo.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7375
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 125-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Alicia Straub (R – Ellinwood)
Senate District 33
Alicia.Straub@senate.ks.gov; straubforkansas@gmail.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7682
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 237-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Dinah Sykes (D – Lenexa)
Senate District 21
Dinah.Sykes@senate.ks.gov; dinah@dinahsykes.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-3245
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 318-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Share This