ACTION ALERT: Senate action on SB208 delayed – keep those calls coming!

by | March 12, 2021

Governor Laura Kelly stands with LGBTQ youth at Equality Day 2019

Yes, we know. We keep posting Action Alerts with tight deadlines for killing SB 208, the bill attacking trans children who want to participate in school sports, only to post new action alerts with new dates and deadlines.

It’s been a moving target.  We believe one of the reasons for the Senate’s repeated delays (a good thing!) has been the overwhelming volume of calls and emails senators have been getting from you, our friends, allies, and members of the LGBTQ community.

Put simply, your activism is working. We are hearing from legislators and their staff that phone calls and emails have been overwhelmingly opposed to SB 208.  Calls supporting this hateful bill have been a tiny fraction of those in opposition.

This is not the time to take our foot off the gas.  The best way to kill this effort to single out transgender children for bullying and abuse is to make your voices heard in the Kansas statehouse.  Keep lighting up their phones!  Keep flooding their inboxes! Every call, every letter, gets us one small step closer to victory.

As we’ve shared before, here’s some basic talking points against SB 208, along with some tips to effectively communication with elected officials, in downloadable PDF form.  Scroll down for the contact list of Senate Education committee members – they all need to hear from you.

Thank you so very much for your help!  Working together we can win this fight and create safe, healthy environments for all Kansas kids, including LGBT kids.

Click to download SB208 talking points:

Click to download Tips for Writing Effective Letters to Public Officials:

If you are able to connect with these senators by phone, or hear back via email, please let us know at info@eqks.org how it went.  As always, please be polite!  Some of these senators are sympathetic to our mission; others are undecided on this issue.  First impressions matter!

Senator Molly Baumgardner (R – Louisburg)
Senate District 37
Molly.Baumgardner@senate.ks.gov; molly@molly4kansas.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7368
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 445-S, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Brenda Dietrich (R – Topeka)
Senate District 20
Brenda.Dietrich@senate.ks.gov; dietrbre@gmail.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7648
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 223-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Renee Erickson (R – Wichita)
Senate District 30
Renee.Erickson@senate.ks.gov; ericksonforkansas@gmail.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7476
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 541-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Beverly Gossage (R – Eudora)
Senate District 9
Beverly.Gossage@senate.ks.gov;
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7382
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 237-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Rick Kloos (R – Berryton)
Senate District 19
Rick.Kloos@senate.ks.gov; kloosforkansas@gmail.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7645
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 541-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Kristen O’Shea (R – Topeka)
Senate District 18
Kristen.OShea@senate.ks.gov; kristen@osheastrengthscoaching.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7656
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 441-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Pat Pettey (D – Kansas City)
Senate District 6
Pat.Pettey@senate.ks.gov; jmphp42@yahoo.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7375
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 125-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Alicia Straub (R – Ellinwood)
Senate District 33
Alicia.Straub@senate.ks.gov; straubforkansas@gmail.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-7682
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 237-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Senator Dinah Sykes (D – Lenexa)
Senate District 21
Dinah.Sykes@senate.ks.gov; dinah@dinahsykes.com
Statehouse phone: 785-296-3245
Statehouse address: 300 SW 10th St, Room 318-E, Topeka, KS 66612

Share This