As of May 2020

Equality Kansas Chapters

Equality Kansas is organized into chapters made up of members living in a given chapter’s counties. Each chapter is represented at the Chapter Conference (our equivalent to a state board of directors) by two members appointed by the chapter. The Chapter Conference, in turn, collaborates on setting policies and goals for the statewide organization, and coordinates and supports activities within each chapter.

Chapters are autonomous and governed by a local board of directors elected by the chapter’s membership. Although each chapter is governed locally, all Equality Kansas chapters share our statewide mission, adopt identical bylaws (with options for local preferences), and meet operational and organizational standards set by the Chapter Conference.

Membership Dues

Membership dues for each chapter are paid annually and are split equally between the Chapter Conference and the chapter to which a member belongs. To be eligible to vote in leadership elections or serve on any Equality Kansas boards or committees, members must be current in their dues.

Forming Your Chapter

There are three basic ways to form an Equality Kansas chapter:

  1. Restart a chapter where one has previously existed but has become dormant. All Equality Kansas chapters are led, with varying degrees of success, by local volunteers. Life events and other challenges to maintaining a volunteer organization will sometimes leave a chapter without leadership or local interest in continuing.
  2. Create a chapter in an area where no chapter presently exists. This can be all or a portion of an area where a chapter once existed but has gone dormant, or in an area where a chapter has never been organized.
  3. Split an existing chapter into geographically smaller areas. This option is available only when the existing chapter to be split agrees to, and the Chapter Conference approves, the split.

Chapter Formation Documents

If you are interested in forming a chapter, or restarting a dormant chapter, where you live, please contact our office. Call us at 316‑683‑1706 or email info@eqks.org. We will be more than happy to assist you and guide you through the process. A chapter bylaws template and an outline for forming a chapter are at these links to downloadable PDFs:


Active Chapters

Kansas City Metro Chapter

The Kansas City Metro chapter includes Johnson and Miami Counties.

One of our original five chapters, the KC Metro Chapter was created in the months following the 2005 founding of Equality Kansas.  Originally chartered as the Johnson County Chapter, KC Metro is notable for having worked to pass inclusive non-discrimination ordinances in a number of Johnson County municipalities.  In the spring of 2020, the chapter was successful in urging the City of Roeland Park to pass the first local ordinance banning the use of so-called “conversion therapy” on minors.

North Central Chapter

The North Central Chapter includes Saline, Cloud, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, McPherson, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa, Republic, and Smith Counties.

The North Central Chapter was organized in 2006, and was the first new chapter added post-founding of Equality Kansas.  In the spring of 2012, the North Central Chapter successfully advocated for passage of a fully inclusive non-discrimination ordinance in Salina.  Unfortunately, the ordinance was repealed by voters in November of that year.  The North Central Chapter also organized, in 2013, the first annual Pride celebration outside of Wichita.

Northeast Chapter

The Northeast chapter includes Wyandotte, Atchison, Brown, Doniphan and Leavenworth Counties.

Our newest chapter, the Northeast Chapter was added in April 2020.  They hope to build on their successes as part of the KC Metro Chapter, when they were successful in advocating for fully inclusive non-discrimination ordinance for Kansas City, Kansas and all of Wyandotte County (the “Unified Government”). 

South Central Chapter

The South Central chapter includes Sedgwick, Butler, Cowley, Harper, Harvey, Marion, and Sumner Counties.

One of our original chapters, the South Central Chapter was, prior to our founding as Kansas Equality Coalition, known as Equality Kansas.  Home to our state headquarters office in downtown Wichita, the South Central Chapter led the way in pressing for inclusive non-discrimination and bullying prevention programs in public schools. Additionally, the South Central Chapter was instrumental in rebuilding Wichita Pride, Kansas’ largest annual pride celebration.

Topeka Chapter

The Topeka chapter includes Shawnee, Jackson, Nemaha, and Wabaunsee Counties.

One of our original chapters, the Topeka Chapter was, prior to Equality Kansas’ founding, the Equal Justice Coalition.  Topeka Chapter is notable for having worked to pass a domestic partnership registry and an inclusive non-discrimination ordinance in the City of Topeka.  Additionally, Topeka Chapter leadership was successful in encouraging Topeka Public Schools (USD 501) to adopt a fully inclusive non-discrimination and bullying prevention policy for students and faculty.

Share This